Customer Reviews for OPTIMA Optima® Batteries

OPTIMA Optima® Batteries

Optima batteries provide more usable power, unequalled vibration resistance, and the cranking power needed to start all of today's largest boat engines. Advanced Spiralcell™ technology, made up of high purity lead plates wound with an electrolyte-absorbing glass mat, provides extremely high power and very low internal resistance. Compared to conventional batteries, they have up to two times the life and 15 times more vibration resistance. A low self-discharge rate means that when stored with a full charge, they can sit for a year and still start your boat. They also have a higher reserve capacity over time, are nonspillable, maintenance-free and can be charged in as little as one hour. All come with a 24-month warranty. D34M fits in a Group 24 battery box and D31M fits in a Group 27 battery box.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.52 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
4
1 Star
6
15 out of 25(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Optima® Batteries
Review 1 for Optima® Batteries
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best I've ever used

Date:October 22, 2006
I've had my boat for 11 years and every two years have had to replace my batteries. Four years ago I bought a 34M and its still going strong. Three years ago I bought my first 34B and two years ago I bought my second 34B. They are still all holding a charge and I can troll in a lake situation on a calm day at half power for 5 hours and still be at 75%. I'm using them with a 12 volt system.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Optima® Batteries
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Sacramento,Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Optima cant keep charge under load

Date:December 2, 2006
Purchased a new 34 starting battery for my 200 h.p. motor. This was the first time I had tried Optima batteries. Always charge my batteries before and after any fishing trip. Only had this battery out for 3 trips. All three times the battery would not start my outboard. Had to jump one time to my trolling motor battery and two times I had to switch the motor cables to my trolling motor battery. Took my boat into a well known bass boat dealer in Sacramento to see if I had a problem with my motor drawing current from the battery when everything was shut down or if there was a short causing the drain. Found out that there was nothing wrong with my motor and that the Optima battery would charge to 13 volts on the charger but when a load was placed on it, it would only crank out 125 marine cranking amps. Dissapointing that such an expensive product would have such poor results. Have been fishing out of bass boats for 30 years and have tried batteries from all the other manufacturers. Would not ever recommend the Optima marine batteries to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Optima® Batteries
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

optima failure

Date:February 26, 2007
I purchased 2 new 31 series batteries less than 2 years ago and was not pleased with their performance. Both batteries failed to start main motor on a day trip. Batteries where charged after each use and stored indoors. This year at 23 months of seasonal use neither battery would hold a charge. It is a shame that something that is priced at this level does live up to its billing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Optima® Batteries
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Westville South Africa / BFSA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Optima Yellow Top 75Ah

Date:April 22, 2007
I recommend this product to any bass 'power' fisherman, the guy that likes to cover a lot of water quickly. Please remember that your battery is only going to 'put out' as good as what's put in, so get a good charger!!
Great product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Optima® Batteries
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

OUTSTANDING PRODUCT

Date:May 14, 2007
I would recommend this battery to any serious fisherman. It holds a charge forever and last a lifetime. Before purchasing this one, the old one went with the boat on the trade in. (had it for over 5 years)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Optima® Batteries
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Optima Battery Experience

Date:February 26, 2008
This is the third boat I have put new Optima batteries from Cabela's in. They hold up extremely well over the hot summers and cold winters in storage. The on board charger is always connected. (Also from Cabela's) Since switichng to Optima's I have never been stranded. We run the stereo all day and hours at a time with the motor off. I highly reccommend these batteries.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Optima® Batteries
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: sumner, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

optima batteries

Date:May 4, 2008
I would not recomend these batteries to anyone.Bought a set 2 years ago one went bad 6 months after I installed them,so I replaced it & other one went bad 5 months after that.Just can't trust them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Optima® Batteries
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Northern WI & Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Keep Looking

Date:June 7, 2008
Bought two "31s" for deep cycle trolling motor usage two summers ago. Run them in series on a 24 v system and an 85lb thrust trolling motor. First year was great - recharging them after each week of fishing. Second year was not good - had to recharge them every other day and they faded fast. Stored in warm garage over winters. Now am looking for new batteries for this year and will not be getting Optimas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Optima® Batteries
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

optima failed after light use

Date:June 8, 2008
I used this to start my 9.9 hp outboard. It failed to hold a charge after only 6 months and no deep discharges! Have since switched to AGM batteries.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Optima® Batteries
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Lake Cumberland Ky Fisherman
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Optima Batteries

Date:June 21, 2008
Extremely disappointed in battery life.
Purchased 3 Optimas 37 months ago.
Two supporting-24 volt trolling mtr
One for 18 HP Nissan tiller
All three are failing - (Not holding charge/have had light use)
Bottomline:
- Battery overpriced while underperforming
- Battery life too short - (failing in 36th month)
- Can't return locally
- Won't buy Optima Batteries again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Optima® Batteries
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NAPERVILLE, IL. (FISH IN MN. & TEXAS)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT BATTERY

Date:November 9, 2008
I USED MY OPTIMA FOR 4 SEASONS AND STILL GOING STRONG. MY REGULAR BATTERY LASTED ONLY TWO YEARS. I RUN IT A LOT DURING MY 1000+ HOURS OF BASS FISHING PER YEAR. I HAVE AN ON- BOARD CHARGER ON MY BOAT AND ALWAYS KEEP THE BATTERY CHARGING WHEN NOT FISHING. THE CHARGER HAS A AUTOMATIC SHUT OFF. I KEEP IT ON CHARGE DURING THE OFF SEASON. IT HAS BEEN A GREAT BATTERY.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Optima® Batteries
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: east tennessee smokies
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

optima

Date:December 30, 2008
Too soon to determine much, but appears to be a well designed battery. Will use it in an rv-not the recommended application but will be recharged daily and not taxed to the limit. We'll see...optima has a good reputation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Optima® Batteries
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Elmira MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Batteries

Date:January 16, 2009
I bought 2 Optima D34M from Cabela’s in 2005 for my Minn Kota 70pd power drive (I now have the Minn Kota Terrova 80pd both bought at Cabela’s.) I fish around 70 days a season and use my trolling motor 7 to 9 hours on every fishing trip and I have never had any trouble with my Optima Batteries and there still going strong. In 2006 I bought another Optima D34M (I bought this one locally) to run all the electronics, live wells, lights, VHF radio and this battery is also performed flawless. I charge the batters after every fishing trip, it’s the first think that I do when I get home or if I’m on a fishing trip. I have 1 Cabela’s pro spot 2 on board battery charger 2 bank 20amp for the battery that run the trolling motor. I also have a Cabela’s pro sports 1, 12 amp 2 bank for charging my Optima the run the electronics and the starting battery. I would recommend the D34M for anyone the fishes hard all day and doesn’t want to worry about there battery dyeing
Chitterchad 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Optima® Batteries
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

High failure rate, High cost, not so good warranty

Date:March 17, 2009
I have purchased about 12-14 Optima batteries (yellow, blue and red) for 5 automobiles, generators, boats, motorhome and even an airplane. I keep them on a trickle charger throughout the year when not in use. About 6 have failed within 18 months. When they fail, they are toast, won't even partially turn the engine over. The warranties that I get are 12 months or prorated for 2 years. So the high cost and high failure rate with a poor warranty doesn't work for me anymore. But nice advantage is they hold a charge well, when they don't fail.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Optima® Batteries
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Optima Battery

Date:May 18, 2009
This is by far the best battery on the market for marine use. At the end of the season you can remove the battery, store it indoors and when spring rolls around you do not have to worry about your battery. This is the second I have purchased, the 1st is 5 years old and still in our first boat!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Optima® Batteries
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Optima Batteries

Date:June 15, 2009
If you have your batteries in the front of the boat, and you want your batteries to last more than 2 years, the choices are rather limited. My first set was June of 2003; I replaced one last year, and the other one this year. They are tough and have performed as advertized.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Optima® Batteries
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Bend, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Optima Battery

Date:July 27, 2009
I have used my Optimax for several years as a trolling motor battery. Don't recall how many. Always charged well and held the charge. This past spring "someone else" put a 10 amp charger on after a day of fishing, and reversed the polarity. When I looked at the battery the next morning I saw the mistake. The body was very warm. I put the charger on correctly, and after a few hours it took a full charge and performs as well as before. Have used it on 6 trips since, don't yet notice any permanent damage. I have to believe the battery should have been dusted, but it isn't yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Optima® Batteries
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Inconsistant quality

Date:July 28, 2010
I used the yellow tops in my boat as house batteries. I have had three fail for internal shorts. One failed within months of purchase, the other two after about two years use. The failures were all internal shorts, the battery will not charge peroid. The rest of the batteries in the bank are holding up very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Optima® Batteries
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Cape Cod, Mass
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

falls short

Date:November 21, 2010
Four Optima blue tops in three years. You do the math. At two hundred each you'd expect more than an 18 month warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Optima® Batteries
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Denver, CO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Optima Yellow Top

Date:January 4, 2012
I've had my yellow top since 2000 and it's still going strong... It's used for the RV deep cycle battery. I just pulled it out and recharged and it took the full charge. The front battery was shot when I pulled it out (regular battery, 5 years old#, wouldn't even take a full charge. I LOVE this Optima battery. I can't even believe that it's still going strong!! Sometimes my RV sits for months, and the lights will still go on. I usually pull my batteries out over the winter #really late this year), but it's still looking like it'll get used next time I do a road trip. That's 12 years of use, discharge, recharge, lots of vibration where it's located in the RV, and still going strong. My RV has been all over the US, Canada, Alaska, nasty roads, etc. I think I'm going to replace the front battery with a yellow top b/c I really can't believe how well it's held up. Wow!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 25