Customer Reviews for DRIFTMASTER Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder

DRIFTMASTER Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder

Clamp this rod holder to the gunwale and start fishing. No tools needed. Holds all styles of rods including pistol grip models. Constructed of heavy-gauge metal. Enameled finish won’t mar rods. Adjustable to any position. Simply lift rod up and out to remove. Clamp adjusts up to 2-1/2 inches.
Overall Customer Rating:
2.568 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
7
1 Star
14
18 out of 37(49%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Review 1 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2015

Removable Rod Holder

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Ordered 2 of these for my parents pontoon boat. Needed a removable rod holder due to how the boat cover attaches. Comes in a couple pieces with no instructions, so it took a min to figure things out. Works great on the square pontoon rails, although you will need a pair of pliers to get it really tight as the thumb screw is a bit small.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2015

Poor Materials & Design

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The 1/8 aluminum squared "C" does not maintain shape as you tighten the thumb screw.
The open end of the rod holder itself is too shallow to effectively hold the rod. Get a good tug while not watching, and the rod is hanging cock-eyed from the holder.
The square "C" needs to be rounded to allow for full-range adjustability of the rod angle.
Bottom line - a waste of money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2014

doesn't mount firmly on aluminum boat rail

By
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I got a few of these for trolling in my 14' starcraft.
The mount will not attach firmly to the sloped side of the boat. I tried using wooden wedges to square it up but the metal flexes as the bolt is tightened so it is not a good hold. I also found that you can not adjust the angle the rod is at other than 90% from the boat, I like to angle my rod toward the front when trolling.
They are cheap, but just don't work for me.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2014

Not for aluminum boats

By
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This will not clamp onto an aluminum boat very securely. Unable to adjust the angle enough to actually use the product to hold our fishing poles. If I used them I would be afraid a small fish would just pull my pole into the water.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2014

Rod Holder

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
You get what you pay for. This is not the best rod holder but it works well for the price. If it does not work well for you Cabela's will always give your money back.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2013

ROD HOLDER

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
JUNK BUT YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2013

it is a joy to know the fun you have with products

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Hello, I have bought many things from Cabela's here and it is was fun the know they give me what I ask for and fun to use here. I found with the rod holders here that I got. I can use them on my fishing cart as well then. They hold tight to the cart there and let me know I got a fish on the hook there. There is no worry that the rod holders will come loose then. So weather you use them on a boat or on a fishing cart. They stay where you put them and not loose your fishing rod then.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2013

Best Rod Holder Found

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This rod holder is just what I was looking for. Makes fishing a lot easier and better for me.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2012

Dont waste money

By
After trying to get these holders to work somehow for about a hour , i open the garage can and put them where they belong!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2012

flimsy

By
Location: milwaukee, wi
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought 2 of these to use with my boat and off-shore fishing. very flimsy, won't stay tide to the base. rusted very fast. After 2 months of summer fishing I had to trow it away.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2010

Flimsy and poorly made

By
Location: Montana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I purchased several of these for my 18 foot jet boat. The cheap wing nuts strip easily, and the clamps will not stay tight. I thought I could fix them by welding them together, and it did make a big improvement, but they still did not work very well. The modified rodholders would work fine for small fish, but a large catfish will easily bend them when it grabs the bait and takes off. Snagging a cottonwood tree or ice chunk that is floating downstream will totally destroy one of these rodholders. I recommend that you spend the extra money on high quality rod holders or build your own instead of buying these flimsy things.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2009

Good, if configured for your boat ...

By
Location: Erie, Pa
Initially I bought more expensive rod holders ( here !! ) than this for my 14 aluminum fishing boat but they did not work ... a waste of $$ !!
These do work, but I had to improvise and use wood blocks both inside and outside; I indented the inside 3/8" block partially with a 1" hole saw to be sure it holds fast when screwed in, since I fish for steelhead. I also used velcro ( 1" two strips on each block) to hold both blocks ( inside & outside ) to the aluminum gunwale.
There is no way this holder will work or hold fast without these wood blocks, at least on my boat ... additionally, I used 3-3/4" screws on the outside wood block ( 1 1/4" thick ) for each holder with finish washers to be sure it stays put. And I bought better wing nuts ...
After all this ... I think this holder will work well for my boat, it will hold fast and you can't beat the price !!! I looked for these everywhere locally but could find none !! if it swiveled out of the way parallel to the boat, I would have given it 5 stars. Good luck !!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2009

Great Rod Holder

By
Location: Festus, MO.
Great cheap rod holder. You can leave rod unattended while you get beer etc. Mounts securely to rail. Fish could tear railing from my houseboat before I would loose the Rod.
I am going to buy more.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2009

Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder

By
Location: Molokai, Hawaii
Very poorly made, clamp is very weak in holding rod holder to boat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2009

Below average rod holder

By
Location: Russell, PA
My review of this product is a mixed one. For the cost, well, I got what I paid for. The overall functionality is here with this rod holder, but, it does not easily clamp onto my little river boat. The clamp assembly simply does not screw in far enough without the use of blocking material. Even with the blocking material, this holder is not 100% stable, but effectively does it's job..as I said, for the cost. My rating should actually be a 2.5, but that was not an option..so, I was generous and gave it a full 3 stars. So, if you are looking for a rod holder and you are on a tight budget, this will work for you.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2009

Pretty crâppy. Would NOT recommend.

By
It's just too flimsy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2008

No good

By
Location: Westchester, NY
Angle is way off. When I put my rod in the holder the top half of my rod was submerged in the water.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2008

bad purchase

By
Location: Surrey B.C
Sometimes it does not pay to go cheap. Definately not the ticket. The clamps will not tighten enough and the holder moves. Also the angle is all wrong for my boat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2008

will not clamp on rim of boat

By
Location: colona il
I had re bend and use a bolt the thumb screw would not hold and the is not enough bend to hold the rod up high enough.to keep it from slipping of.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2008

rod holder

By
Location: TN
a very good in expensive rod holder easy to modify if need be.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 37