Customer Reviews for DRIFTMASTER Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder

DRIFTMASTER Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder

Clamp this rod holder to the gunwale and start fishing. No tools needed. Holds all styles of rods including pistol grip models. Constructed of heavy-gauge metal. Enameled finish won’t mar rods. Adjustable to any position. Simply lift rod up and out to remove. Clamp adjusts up to 2-1/2 inches.
Overall Customer Rating:
2.636 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
6
1 Star
12
17 out of 33(52%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Review 1 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rod Holder

Date:April 8, 2014
You get what you pay for. This is not the best rod holder but it works well for the price. If it does not work well for you Cabela's will always give your money back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

ROD HOLDER

Date:July 9, 2013
JUNK BUT YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

it is a joy to know the fun you have with products

Date:May 29, 2013
Hello, I have bought many things from Cabela's here and it is was fun the know they give me what I ask for and fun to use here. I found with the rod holders here that I got. I can use them on my fishing cart as well then. They hold tight to the cart there and let me know I got a fish on the hook there. There is no worry that the rod holders will come loose then. So weather you use them on a boat or on a fishing cart. They stay where you put them and not loose your fishing rod then.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Rod Holder Found

Date:April 9, 2013
This rod holder is just what I was looking for. Makes fishing a lot easier and better for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Dont waste money

Date:December 28, 2012
After trying to get these holders to work somehow for about a hour , i open the garage can and put them where they belong!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: milwaukee, wi
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

flimsy

Date:January 9, 2012
I bought 2 of these to use with my boat and off-shore fishing. very flimsy, won't stay tide to the base. rusted very fast. After 2 months of summer fishing I had to trow it away.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Montana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Flimsy and poorly made

Date:November 1, 2010
I purchased several of these for my 18 foot jet boat. The cheap wing nuts strip easily, and the clamps will not stay tight. I thought I could fix them by welding them together, and it did make a big improvement, but they still did not work very well. The modified rodholders would work fine for small fish, but a large catfish will easily bend them when it grabs the bait and takes off. Snagging a cottonwood tree or ice chunk that is floating downstream will totally destroy one of these rodholders. I recommend that you spend the extra money on high quality rod holders or build your own instead of buying these flimsy things.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Erie, Pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good, if configured for your boat ...

Date:October 28, 2009
Initially I bought more expensive rod holders ( here !! ) than this for my 14 aluminum fishing boat but they did not work ... a waste of $$ !!
These do work, but I had to improvise and use wood blocks both inside and outside; I indented the inside 3/8" block partially with a 1" hole saw to be sure it holds fast when screwed in, since I fish for steelhead. I also used velcro ( 1" two strips on each block) to hold both blocks ( inside & outside ) to the aluminum gunwale.
There is no way this holder will work or hold fast without these wood blocks, at least on my boat ... additionally, I used 3-3/4" screws on the outside wood block ( 1 1/4" thick ) for each holder with finish washers to be sure it stays put. And I bought better wing nuts ...
After all this ... I think this holder will work well for my boat, it will hold fast and you can't beat the price !!! I looked for these everywhere locally but could find none !! if it swiveled out of the way parallel to the boat, I would have given it 5 stars. Good luck !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Festus, MO.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rod Holder

Date:September 1, 2009
Great cheap rod holder. You can leave rod unattended while you get beer etc. Mounts securely to rail. Fish could tear railing from my houseboat before I would loose the Rod.
I am going to buy more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Molokai, Hawaii
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder

Date:August 17, 2009
Very poorly made, clamp is very weak in holding rod holder to boat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Russell, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Below average rod holder

Date:July 26, 2009
My review of this product is a mixed one. For the cost, well, I got what I paid for. The overall functionality is here with this rod holder, but, it does not easily clamp onto my little river boat. The clamp assembly simply does not screw in far enough without the use of blocking material. Even with the blocking material, this holder is not 100% stable, but effectively does it's job..as I said, for the cost. My rating should actually be a 2.5, but that was not an option..so, I was generous and gave it a full 3 stars. So, if you are looking for a rod holder and you are on a tight budget, this will work for you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Pretty crâppy. Would NOT recommend.

Date:January 28, 2009
It's just too flimsy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Westchester, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No good

Date:November 24, 2008
Angle is way off. When I put my rod in the holder the top half of my rod was submerged in the water.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Surrey B.C
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

bad purchase

Date:August 18, 2008
Sometimes it does not pay to go cheap. Definately not the ticket. The clamps will not tighten enough and the holder moves. Also the angle is all wrong for my boat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: colona il
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

will not clamp on rim of boat

Date:August 12, 2008
I had re bend and use a bolt the thumb screw would not hold and the is not enough bend to hold the rod up high enough.to keep it from slipping of.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

rod holder

Date:August 4, 2008
a very good in expensive rod holder easy to modify if need be.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Seattle
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rod holder

Date:July 7, 2008
It's just a rod holder but for my purpose it was just right. Easy on and off. Weather proof. A very good price as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: jacksonville n.c
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

rod no-er

Date:April 15, 2008
This product is cheaply made came apart when installing..beware!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great rodholders

Date:March 8, 2008
I use these rod holders on my homemade T- bars,Just throw away the clamps that come with them and mount them to you on T-bars and you will have some very good rodholders to troll with.If you are thinkling of clamping them to your boat the clamps will not hold or clamp down,just an heads up!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Deluxe Clamp-On Rod Holder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Metro Atlanta Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Deluxe Clamp-on rod holder

Date:February 20, 2008
The clamp brackets are too short so that the rod end hits the wing nut that clamps the rod holder. The rod will not go all the way into the holder. The wing nut is so thin that it stripped out on its first use. This item is a poor design and a waste of money. They are totally useless for my jon boat. Cabela's is great, this item is terrible.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 33