Customer Reviews for SCOTTY Scotty Electric Downrigger Propacks

SCOTTY Scotty Electric Downrigger Propacks

With a faster retrieve and more lifting power than any other downrigger available, it's no wonder Scotty is the choice of tournament anglers and guides everywhere. And, because they're fully saltwater protected, they're perfectly suited to withstand the rigors of offshore use. Each downrigger in the 1116 Propack includes 250 ft. of stainless steel premium downrigger cable, dual adjustable rod holders and an electric cord plug and boat socket. The Propack also includes a 36" to 60" telescoping boom, autostop control, swivel mount with tilt-up feature, weight-storage hook, instruction book and two power grip plus releases. The Propack Quick Draw is the same as the 1116 Pro Pack except with two fully adjustable Quick Draw Rod Holders with extensions. Color: Black.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
5
7 out of 12(58%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Scotty Electric Downrigger Propacks
Review 1 for Scotty Electric Downrigger Propacks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2013

Great unit

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Fantastic
Easy to use
Fast retreival
Best price around
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Scotty Electric Downrigger Propacks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2012

rigger

By
2nd one purchased. love it. great support from scotty.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Scotty Electric Downrigger Propacks
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2010

stay on the blacktop

By
Location: Washington
One trip down the logging road, and almost lost every part of this downrigger.
It isn't put together very well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Scotty Electric Downrigger Propacks
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 21, 2009

too clumsy

By
Location: New York
what can I say?
I guess I'm just used to my old Big Jons, but I liked the way I could power jig the lures up and down with the motor.
This Scotty only powers up so I can't do it
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Scotty Electric Downrigger Propacks
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2009

too big

By
Location: Wisconsin
they are wayyyyy too big and take up wayyyy too much space on my boat.
I'm sure they are going to get damaged sooner or later on the dock.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Scotty Electric Downrigger Propacks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2009

downrigger

By
Location: ONTARIO,CANADA
I have two Scotty pro packs which I have used for about 5 years. I use a 13 lb ball and can only say good things about these units. The manual down is excellent when you get used to it as you have amazing control . You can go as slow or fast as you want and you have good control and a smooth contrlled stop .I used another brand of Electric for years and it was fine but I prefer the Scotties and actually prefer the manual down control
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Scotty Electric Downrigger Propacks
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2009

too much plastic

By
Location: Indiana
only used it twice and my swivel base broke.
I don't like the belt drive, because I have to lower the ball manually, and it broke when I was bringing it up and snagged a commercial net by accident.
O well still got my old mag 10's, real slow, but at least they work. while I wait for these new ones to get fixed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Scotty Electric Downrigger Propacks
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2009

Wish I hadn't bought it

By
I should have known better.
All the other brands have the cable wheel in an upright position and now I know why.
When I grab my ball on the Scotty to reset my release the cable slack allows the cable to fall off the side of the pulley because it is laying on it's side..daahhh
It's darned near impossible to fix it on the water too . It's a real pain.
Also I didn't know the Scotty is a belt drive and can only power up. All the other brands can power up and down .This Scotty has to be lowered manually. Where we fish I like to swim the lure up and down by using my toggle switch to power down and then reverse up then down again. This excites fish into striking.
I can;t do that with this Scotty so I can't catch as many fish.
I'm going to get rid of it and buy a Big Jon or Walker or Cannon.
They've been making electrics a lot longer than Scotty and obviously know what they are doing...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Scotty Electric Downrigger Propacks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2008

SCOTTY 1116 PRO-PACK

By
Location: WASHIGNTON,PA
Yes, they are quite ugly and primitive looking. Yes, using the clutch lever to release the canonball in freefall takes a little getting used to. However, they are the most reliable and trouble free downrigger you can get. The Scotty is very easy on your battery. I've gone through electric Canon and Walkers. 2008 will be the fourth summer that I've been using only Scotty. I've worn out line release after line release and haven't had a single problem with the 1116. Highly recommend getting anybody's Downrigger Weight Retriever to facilitate getting the canonball in the boat, especially useful in rough water.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Scotty Electric Downrigger Propacks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2008

BEst Down Riggers on the Market

By
Location: Virginia
I received the 1116 Propacks as a gift after getting my new boat. I have had the opportunity to use the other guys down riggers in the past and I can tell you that the Scotty gear is the best there is. they perform flawlessly rigfht out of the box.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Scotty Electric Downrigger Propacks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2007

Top Notch Downrigger!

By
Location: Hamlin, New York
It is my opinion that this is the best downrigger on the market! Very smooth and lightning fast(can be used slowly if you want). Uses no battery on the decent!! Awesome!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Scotty Electric Downrigger Propacks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2007

Downriggers

By
Location: Silver Bay, Mn on the Shore of Lake Superior
I have used hand crank riggers on the Great Lakes for nearly 30 years. I used the Scotty 1116 while Salmon fishing out of Sittka and found it to be fast, smooth, user friendly and easy to move out of the way when fighting fish or docking. I was impressed at the time and brought the experience home. Fishing the reefs of Lake Superior requires moving the rigger weights up and down fast, which is tiring on arms and back. The automatic retrieve is really nice when you are fighting fish and don't want the rigger cable and weight in the way of fish fouling your line. Just punch the button and it is up and out of the way. It is really nice when I have guests onboard that are not well versed in downrigger fishing. It really helps cut down on lost gear. The Scotty is the real ticket. I still have my old crank riggers that I use when the fish are suspended in water from 30- 50' and stacking isn't an option. Another good Cabela purchase.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.