Customer Reviews for HAPPY TROLLER The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate

HAPPY TROLLER The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate

Perfect trolling speed doesn’t necessarily mean the addition of an expensive trolling motor. Make this fixed-position trolling plate a simple but extremely effective part of your fishing strategy. In the up position, the plate acts as a stabilizer, smoothing out the ride in rough water and reducing porpoising and cavitation. In the down position, it serves as a brake so you can maintain the ideal trolling speed. Constructed of the highest quality stainless steel and marine aluminum with a clear, anodized aluminum finish. Models: Small - Fits outboard motors through 50 hp Large - Fits I/O’s plus all outboards 50 hp and larger
Overall Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
27 out of 28(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Review 1 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

more than satisfied

Date:April 8, 2014
performs well on 25hp mercury cuts speed from 3mph to 1.1mph at ideal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works on Bravo 3 outdrive with modifications

Date:September 11, 2013
I have a 23 1/2 ft SeaRay with a Bravo 3 outdrive that we wakeboard on and fish and troll from. I had to use a belt sander to narrow the cavitation plate about 1 mm on each side. It took my trolling speed from 3.1 to about 1.4 mph - gps speed. The pull rope drops it down easily, but the spring is not strong enough to release the plate from the down position. I have to raise the outdrive and do it by hand - not a big deal. Four bolts hold it in place, so I can easily remove the entire plate when we are not going to be trolling.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome

Date:July 30, 2013
Slows boat to 1mph. Before the trolling plate I could only get down to 5mph
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No kicker needed!

Date:June 25, 2013
I have struggled with the concept of a kicker motor for some time. The Happy Troller made the decision easy. It allowed me to troll down to .5 if I wanted to. I have a Lowe 16V with a 40 hp Evinrude. This is the perfect match for this boat and a great way to not have to haul around a kicker. ONLY downfall is it makes for some loud trolling, but thats not the Happy Trollers fault.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good Product

Date:February 16, 2013
I have used a Happy troller for years and have never had a problem. I did add a a notch at the 45 degree position for another speed selection. I highly recommend doing that if you have one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product

Date:November 19, 2012
Very well made and easy to install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

happy troller

Date:August 12, 2009
works good easy installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Happy Troller

Date:July 7, 2009
The trolling plate does a good job of slowing my boat down to troll at a slower speed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Poland Spring, Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works like described

Date:June 18, 2009
It was easy to install and works just like it was described in the ad. Shipping was quick and easy. What more could you ask for?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Los Angeles
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HAPPY TROLLER WITH A HAPPY TROLLER!

Date:June 17, 2009
I recently purchased this device after reading some online reviews (good and bad). I have a Fish N Sky with a Volvo V8 I/O and when I attempted to troll, I could not reduce my speed enough to properly troll. After installing the Happy Troller to my boat I was able to easily lower my speed to enable myself to properly troll. I recommend the Happy Troller to anybody in need of slowing down their boat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Roscommon, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Happy Trolling

Date:May 27, 2009
Taking the advice from other reviewers, I added a 45 degree notch to the trolling plate. Using this intermediate notch, I can troll down to 1 mph with my Yamaha 50. Also, by running at higher rpm, my motor does not load up during extended trolling. This plate allowed me to do away with my kicker motor. This is a good product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Atwater, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Happy Troller

Date:May 6, 2009
This item was easy to install. Works great and easy to operate. I bought the small unit. I can troll nicely at anywhere between .07 to 2.5 mph. Great control on steering the boat. Real windy conditions I'll also use my electric trolling motor to steer and minor speed changes. Thanks for building a great piece of equipment. Til next time!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: East Millinocket Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Happy Troller renovation

Date:April 27, 2009
I bought one of these units and agree with the review that stated you will have to make modifications. I did the same as them. I cut a slot to give it a different pitch and installed a line on the end of the flap to make it easy to retract up for running. Maybe a heads up to the manufacture to do the same. Its rugged and I know its going to be fine. Contact me for any other info.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Victoria, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Happy Troller

Date:April 9, 2009
This is my third one. It really does away with the need for a "kicker". I mounted this on my 60 hp Yamaha and it trolls down to where I can use any type of lure.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Livermore, California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Slowed a 19 foot Rinell with a 350 to a crawl.

Date:March 9, 2009
The install on this trolling plate was a breeze....only requiring a few new holes drilled & a wrench. The plate slowed the boat plenty for effective trolling. The only thing that I would recommend to someone looking into this plate is to spend the extra 30 bucks or so to get the trolling plate with the fins, as you loose the ability to steer when conditions on the water are windy. Overall a great product for the 100 bucks or so it costs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Upstate New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Happy Troller

Date:October 31, 2008
Got a 20 hp Mercury. I really didn't need this unit but I was just really curious to see how it would react. What I noticed with my particular motor is that it almost slows me down to much. I think if I were to cut some slits in the plate it may react a little better. A bigger HP engine may be recommended to have this on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Spokane Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Happy Troller

Date:September 29, 2008
I installed the Happy Troller on a 25HP outboard. It actually made it go too low (.5mph). I then cut in a midway notch with a file, so it will lock down at a 45 degree angle. That put me in the 1mph range. I can still put it all the way down for the slow drift to cast and retrieve. Works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Happy Troller

Date:September 24, 2008
These plates work well but as mentioned in some of the other reviews are not without idiosyncrocies. First off, I have a 2007 Merc. 115 4 stroke and the plate would not fit in the recommended position. I had to mount it on the top of the stabilizer bar. No big deal. Secondly, I had to cut a rather large Vee in the bottom of the plate as the boat had poor direction control and it slowed down my 17 Crestliner Fishhawk below trolling speed even at 1200 RPM. Lastly, they are a little difficult to put up and down until you get the hang of it. Otherwise a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ca.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

happy troller

Date:July 14, 2008
Excellent product wish I had bought one sooner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

happy troller

Date:June 30, 2008
excellent piece of equipment, provided you don't accidentally hit the throttle with it down. I have one on my 150 hp Johnson and I can reduce my speed to less then 1 mph. Easy to install and trouble free.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 28