Customer Reviews for HAPPY TROLLER The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate

HAPPY TROLLER The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate

Perfect trolling speed doesn’t necessarily mean the addition of an expensive trolling motor. Make this fixed-position trolling plate a simple but extremely effective part of your fishing strategy. In the up position, the plate acts as a stabilizer, smoothing out the ride in rough water and reducing porpoising and cavitation. In the down position, it serves as a brake so you can maintain the ideal trolling speed. Constructed of the highest quality stainless steel and marine aluminum with a clear, anodized aluminum finish. Models: Small - Fits outboard motors through 50 hp Large - Fits I/O’s plus all outboards 50 hp and larger
Overall Customer Rating:
4.419 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
30 out of 31(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Review 1 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2016

Happier Troller

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Thanks to a review like this I learned that if you cut a new notch at 45 degrees to the 9 0'clock and 12 o'clock notches that exist more control of the boat is accomplished.
Again, why doesn't the company do this. It works.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2015

Perfect trolling speeds!

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I installed the Large size plate on my Evinrude E-Tech 60 HP mounted on a MirroCraft Holiday 1628. Prior to the plate, I was trolling at 3 mph with the main engine. With the plate installed, my speed is just around 1 mph, and with a little throttle (up to 1,200), I am getting speeds just around 2 mph. I mounted a stainless steel eye bolt on the motor casing to which I threaded the pull cord and attached a handle. This allows the motor to turn and tilt in all directions without hindering the effectiveness of the cord. An added bonus is that the boat jumps up on plane much quicker and runs more stable in a medium chop. To drop the plate, it is best to trim the engine up a bit before pulling the cord. To raise the plate, lower the engine while in a slow idle, pull the cord, you will feel a slight forward surge when the plate raises. Before applying more throttle, confirm that the plate is in the locked up position. You do not want to apply more than 1,200 rpm with the plate down, or it may cause damage to the plate. Although I do have a 55 lb. thrust trolling motor mounted on the bow, this plate allows me to troll in less than 15 seconds when I do not want to connect and lower the bow motor. All in all... a very good product and a useful addition to my boat and motor! Now I'm off to chase the Walleye!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2015

Good but modify it

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Put my first Happy Troller on a few years ago but it slowed me down too much- and the only option was more throttle- and I didn't like that option. I drilled holes in the plate but that didn't do anything noticeable. There was only one adjustment to the plate for up... and down. I added (with a grinder) another notch midway in the adjustment hardware on each side (rod holding each side of the trolling plate up or down) for 45 degrees and found that worked perfectly. Trimming the motor, 90 (up) 45 degree (halfway) and 0 (down) gives you more speed options for ever changing wind and current conditions. I wish the manufacturer would do this... it's tested....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2014

more than satisfied

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
performs well on 25hp mercury cuts speed from 3mph to 1.1mph at ideal.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2013

works on Bravo 3 outdrive with modifications

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have a 23 1/2 ft SeaRay with a Bravo 3 outdrive that we wakeboard on and fish and troll from. I had to use a belt sander to narrow the cavitation plate about 1 mm on each side. It took my trolling speed from 3.1 to about 1.4 mph - gps speed. The pull rope drops it down easily, but the spring is not strong enough to release the plate from the down position. I have to raise the outdrive and do it by hand - not a big deal. Four bolts hold it in place, so I can easily remove the entire plate when we are not going to be trolling.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2013

awesome

By
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Slows boat to 1mph. Before the trolling plate I could only get down to 5mph
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2013

No kicker needed!

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have struggled with the concept of a kicker motor for some time. The Happy Troller made the decision easy. It allowed me to troll down to .5 if I wanted to. I have a Lowe 16V with a 40 hp Evinrude. This is the perfect match for this boat and a great way to not have to haul around a kicker. ONLY downfall is it makes for some loud trolling, but thats not the Happy Trollers fault.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2013

Very good Product

By
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have used a Happy troller for years and have never had a problem. I did add a a notch at the 45 degree position for another speed selection. I highly recommend doing that if you have one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2012

great product

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Very well made and easy to install
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2009

happy troller

By
works good easy installation
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2009

Happy Troller

By
The trolling plate does a good job of slowing my boat down to troll at a slower speed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2009

works like described

By
Location: Poland Spring, Maine
It was easy to install and works just like it was described in the ad. Shipping was quick and easy. What more could you ask for?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2009

HAPPY TROLLER WITH A HAPPY TROLLER!

By
Location: Los Angeles
I recently purchased this device after reading some online reviews (good and bad). I have a Fish N Sky with a Volvo V8 I/O and when I attempted to troll, I could not reduce my speed enough to properly troll. After installing the Happy Troller to my boat I was able to easily lower my speed to enable myself to properly troll. I recommend the Happy Troller to anybody in need of slowing down their boat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2009

Happy Trolling

By
Location: Roscommon, MI
Taking the advice from other reviewers, I added a 45 degree notch to the trolling plate. Using this intermediate notch, I can troll down to 1 mph with my Yamaha 50. Also, by running at higher rpm, my motor does not load up during extended trolling. This plate allowed me to do away with my kicker motor. This is a good product!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2009

The Happy Troller

By
Location: Atwater, CA
This item was easy to install. Works great and easy to operate. I bought the small unit. I can troll nicely at anywhere between .07 to 2.5 mph. Great control on steering the boat. Real windy conditions I'll also use my electric trolling motor to steer and minor speed changes. Thanks for building a great piece of equipment. Til next time!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2009

The Happy Troller renovation

By
Location: East Millinocket Maine
I bought one of these units and agree with the review that stated you will have to make modifications. I did the same as them. I cut a slot to give it a different pitch and installed a line on the end of the flap to make it easy to retract up for running. Maybe a heads up to the manufacture to do the same. Its rugged and I know its going to be fine. Contact me for any other info.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2009

Happy Troller

By
Location: Victoria, TX
This is my third one. It really does away with the need for a "kicker". I mounted this on my 60 hp Yamaha and it trolls down to where I can use any type of lure.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2009

Slowed a 19 foot Rinell with a 350 to a crawl.

By
Location: Livermore, California
The install on this trolling plate was a breeze....only requiring a few new holes drilled & a wrench. The plate slowed the boat plenty for effective trolling. The only thing that I would recommend to someone looking into this plate is to spend the extra 30 bucks or so to get the trolling plate with the fins, as you loose the ability to steer when conditions on the water are windy. Overall a great product for the 100 bucks or so it costs.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2008

Happy Troller

By
Location: Upstate New York
Got a 20 hp Mercury. I really didn't need this unit but I was just really curious to see how it would react. What I noticed with my particular motor is that it almost slows me down to much. I think if I were to cut some slits in the plate it may react a little better. A bigger HP engine may be recommended to have this on.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Happy Troller Fixed Position Trolling Plate
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2008

Happy Troller

By
Location: Spokane Washington
I installed the Happy Troller on a 25HP outboard. It actually made it go too low (.5mph). I then cut in a midway notch with a file, so it will lock down at a 45 degree angle. That put me in the 1mph range. I can still put it all the way down for the slow drift to cast and retrieve. Works great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 31