Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Aluminum Boat Patch

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CABELA'S Cabela's Aluminum Boat Patch

Repairs Leaks in Aluminum Boats. This fusion bondage epoxy will repair and waterproof aluminum boat rivets, minor cracks and small holes without welding. Easy to apply; no solvents or mixing. All you need is a standard torch and fine sandpaper or a wire brush. Instructions included. Large size sticks will handle twice the repairs of other kits.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.531 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(111 Reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 111 reviews
5 Stars
82
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
0
1 Star
6
105 out of 111(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Aluminum Boat Patch
Review 61 for Cabela's Aluminum Boat Patch
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Aluminum boat patch

Date:September 22, 2008
Easy to use and is working so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Cabela's Aluminum Boat Patch
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

boatpatch

Date:September 9, 2008
Very good for small leaks. be sure and heat metal first then coat metal will cut down on amount of patch required.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Cabela's Aluminum Boat Patch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Aluminum Boat Patch works great

Date:September 5, 2008
Stuff is great. Practice your technique on a different surface before you try it directly to the boat. I put a bit too much on until I got the hang of it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Cabela's Aluminum Boat Patch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GOOD STUFF

Date:September 2, 2008
I purchased this product to repair a number of cracks and small holes in a 1963 starcraft rebuild. This product was easy to use and seems to adhere easily. Took some time getting familiar with how to use it, but in a few moments it went on easily.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Cabela's Aluminum Boat Patch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent kit

Date:July 28, 2008
Took some time but i had so many leaking rivets I did all the one's i could get to on bottom. Wire brushed them all used propane torch to apply and they no longer leak. I would highly recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Cabela's Aluminum Boat Patch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NW Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This stuff works!

Date:July 28, 2008
I have an older Starcraft aluminum boat that has several small holes in the hull and some rivets that have leaked since I have owned the boat. I used the heat applied sticks to seal the bad areas. Two 10 hour trips on the water, the bilge is dry! The stuff was a little to apply while lying on my back under the boat, wear a long sleeve shirt as it will drip.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Cabela's Aluminum Boat Patch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hernando, MS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Aluminum Boat Patch

Date:July 28, 2008
Had several rivets and a small crack in old Aluminum boat. Purchased patch stick and worked like a charm. Easy to use. Just buffed out old area , heated area where rivet was and allowed patch stick to melt over area. Dried and sealed easily with plenty to spare for another rivet or two. Am thinking of going ahead and doing all rivets to prevent future leaks. Again for small repairs will do a great job. Instructions were easy to understand and feel anyone with desire to fix a small leak quickly and efficiently can do this. Would not recommend for large holes. Small cracks, leaking rivets, sealing a seam or two will work fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Cabela's Aluminum Boat Patch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Long Beach Island.. paradise.. NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

leaky boat patch

Date:July 24, 2008
Easy.. works perfectly..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Cabela's Aluminum Boat Patch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tablerock Lake, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tough & Easy

Date:July 23, 2008
This product was so easy to apply. In no time I felt like a pro that had been repairing boats for years, when in fact it was my first attempt at a complete boat restoration.
Once hardened off it is very tough to the elements. And even tho' it doesn't say so on the container, I'm finding that it can be scuffed up, primed, and painted so there is no outstanding color changes in final finish, although there may be some telltale bumps if you leave a good healthy protective coat on the aluminum.
I will be ordering more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Cabela's Aluminum Boat Patch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ontario Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Boat Patch

Date:July 22, 2008
Cabelas boat patch worked awesome.
No mixing goes on easy and no more leaks.
I ordered over the phone and just wish all companys were as polite and helpful as Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Cabela's Aluminum Boat Patch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Marion, Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Impressed for Price

Date:July 22, 2008
I used the boat patch stick on my boat about a month ago and have fished it probably 20 times since. So far I am impressed for how easy it was use and the price. Extremely hard to aluminum braze without blowing a hole in a jon boat but you don't have have to worry about that with this. It gets rock hard and adheres to the aluminum way better than I had expected. I will buy more just to keep around for next time time.......
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Cabela's Aluminum Boat Patch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great stuff

Date:July 17, 2008
easy to use, works great, I ordered more to keep on hand and used it on two of my boats
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Cabela's Aluminum Boat Patch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: AURORA , IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ALUMINUM BOAT PATCH

Date:July 14, 2008
I HAD TO PATCH 84 LEAKING RIVETS ON MY '71 16' LUND IT WORKED GREAT AND I DID NOT HAVE ANY MORE LEAKING RIVETS I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE WHO HAS TRIED SILICONE OR OTHER SIMILAR PRODUCTS AND IT IS ALSO VERY EASY TO WORK WITH AND APPLY.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Cabela's Aluminum Boat Patch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gulf Hammock,Fl.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

3M Alumapatch

Date:July 12, 2008
GREAT STUFF! I am repainting a 14' Monark Jon boat, and I had a couple of loose rivets. All you have to do is sand the area around the spot to patch, clean with alcohol and heat the spot up for 45sec to a minute then touch the epoxy stick to it and let it melt around the spot. You can sweep the torch tip over the epoxy to "level out" or "smooth up" the patch. I would recommend that you make it as smooth or even looking as you can now, because once it cools it's there, no sanding or smoothing out then. The epoxy remains flexible so it won't crack, but it is hard enough to be tough. You get two sticks about one foot long each. This stuff is simple to use if you got half a brain. I will recommend it to everyone repairing small holes or loose rivets. Good job 3M.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Cabela's Aluminum Boat Patch
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Aniak, Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Boat Patch

Date:July 9, 2008
I have run the boat about ten hours since patching and have yet to see any leaks reapearing. One patch is trying to peel in the boat wash on a rough edge that I failed to smooth in properly. Cleanliness in application and good rough surface is key here.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Cabela's Aluminum Boat Patch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Billings, MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Boat Patch

Date:July 8, 2008
I looked at the reviews for the product and ordered it for my old 10' Hewescraft aluminum boat. Followed instructions and hints in reviews and completed before taking boat to the lake on 4th of July weekend. It worked great no more leaks. Good product, works as advertised.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Cabela's Aluminum Boat Patch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: missouri park hills
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good

Date:July 7, 2008
my john boat had arow of leaks. so i bought the cabelas aluminum boat patch. let me tell you all it works. and very easy to uesd. i am very pleased with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Cabela's Aluminum Boat Patch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: cali
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

aluminum boat patch

Date:June 25, 2008
worked great! would recommend. easy to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Cabela's Aluminum Boat Patch
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cabella's aluminum boat batch

Date:June 23, 2008
It won't do cracks that get flexed like an aluminum boat bottom.
Only a professionl welder that specializes in aluminum sheet metal and aluminum boats can fix what my boat required.
The professional welder cost me less than I figured and a bit more than the Cabella's aluminum boat patch. I think the Cabella's patch might work on a very small tiny hole if properly cleaned and applied. Even maybe loose rivits, but nothing bigger. I do not know how long a small patch will endure. The price is good. Plan on a temporary fix for tiny leaks. Maybe it will endure longer than expected. It stuck good to my boat and was difficult to remove. I had to prep the area for a pro welder!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Cabela's Aluminum Boat Patch
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nashville, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Aluminum Boat Patch

Date:June 16, 2008
Recently my jon boat started taking on
a little water, maybe half to a gallon
over three/four hours fishing. I determined
it was thru a couple of bolts on the transom.
I ordered the aluminum patch and welded
(propane torch) the bolt heads. A little
sanding and wire brushing prior to using
patch and painted over patch when it
hardened. Easy job. I highly recommend
this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 61-80 of 111