Customer Reviews for DAVIS INSTRUMENTS Fish Seeker Divers

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

DAVIS INSTRUMENTS Fish Seeker Divers

Used for trolling, the Fish Seeker™ dives to any chosen depth from three ft. to 70 ft. using light tackle. After planing out, it stays in the strike zone where the fish are. Tracks true - no tangled lines. Automatically trips and surfaces with strike. After a catch, the lure can easily be sent back to the same depth. Per each. Colors: Chartreuse, Hot Pink, Clear.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.05 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
18 out of 20(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fish Seeker Divers
Review 1 for Fish Seeker Divers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Ontario
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best diver ever

Date:September 17, 2012
walleye fishing on lake erie, you can set the depth to where the fish are and the fish seeker goes and stays at the chosen depth.excellent product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fish Seeker Divers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Diver

Date:June 11, 2012
We have used these divers on Lake Erie for many years with fantastic results. I found them to be accurate with my electronics matching depths. They are rated for a certain speed (2mph) and if you don't exceed that you're good to go. They have accounted for many, many pounds of walleyes. We have caught many a steelie with these too dragging harnesses for the 'eyes. Great product-easy to use, set up. Durable too--stepped on a few and they still work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Fish Seeker Divers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works for me!

Date:May 5, 2012
I've used this many times trolling for trout. you HAVE to stay below 2mph. I've tried to troll faster for a striper and it pops up. I think its more of smaller fish set up, like trout, but it works on bigger fish as well. I set it up according to what the fish finder says, and I catch fish. A LOT of fish. Maybe its the lure but this helps me get to the depth where I need to be. don't forget to use a snubber for trout. I would rate it a 5* if it didnt flip when you cant get bellow 2mph.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Fish Seeker Divers
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Western PA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not as accurate as advertised

Date:July 12, 2011
I ordered this diver to help me go deep during the post spawn months for walleye. I took it out and ran some tests to get a feel for how accurate it dives. Using my GPS to verify speed i was holding between 1.9 and 2.1 mph. I have a built in line counter on my trolling reel to verify line out. The diver did dive very nice and there wasnt much "pumping" when it was in the water. However the scale that they give so you can target a depth isnt as accurate as i would like. I was targeting 25' and set the diver up the way they described in the instructions. They said to put 80' of line out and travel 2 mph to reach that depth. Even with well over 100' of line out i was still not hitting bottem and when my fishfinder said we went shallower up to 19-20' deep i knew the scale wasnt very accurate. You can tell when you hit bottom so i was just running till i felt bottom then reel up about 10' so im assuming that i was just off the bottom a couple ft.
It does dive and will get your lure down but i was looking for something more accurate which is why i gave this product 3 stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Fish Seeker Divers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Junk (for any real trolling)

Date:August 29, 2010
These need to be described better on the site. They need to state that they cannot be used at realistic trolling speeds for large fish. Maybe for small/slow fish they'll work, but for saltwater species where I'm trolling at 5-8 mph, they just flop around on the surface and won't dive. Get the Walker ones if you want to catch fish, they work very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Fish Seeker Divers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Texas White Bass

Date:September 2, 2009
I was looking for a product that would allow me to reach a specific depths and the Fish Seeker Divers work exactly as they were describe. I was able to place my lure in the strike zone with no problem. This option saved time and money on using a downrigger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Fish Seeker Divers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: albany oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fish seeker divers

Date:July 23, 2009
I have been using these for salmon fishing for years now I believe they give you the best depth control from 1 ft down to 80 feet without using downriggers and for shallow coho you cant beat the light drag and superior depth control
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Fish Seeker Divers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

seeker diver

Date:July 6, 2009
for the money this thing is great. i did catch fish with it. im not sure it dives to the exact depth you set it at though. i had it set at 40 feet and trolled over a 25 foot bottom repeatedly and did not get hung up or even see the rod bounce from the contact. bottom line, i caught fish with it that i otherwise could not have reached.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Fish Seeker Divers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Los Banos CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fish Seeker Divers

Date:February 16, 2009
I used the divers and enjoyed the results. I caught fish I could not reach at depths Icould not get to because I don't use downriggers. I found this product effective and affordable. Also was able to feel the fish fight. Good addition to my tackle box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Fish Seeker Divers
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

fai

Date:December 15, 2008
they write in the specifications that they go down 80 feet and more.i test it and they dont go down more than 25 feet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Fish Seeker Divers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Great Falls, MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works like a champ!

Date:October 7, 2008
I used the fish seeker diver as a means to avoid using downriggers. I do have a couple of minor complaints with the equipment. First of all, if you troll over 2.5 mph, the fish seeker will put a heavy pull on the rod. Not a real issue if you are trolling less than that. Problem #2, the instructions call for a 4-5 foot leader, I have been using 30-36" leaders and have been catching fish, and the idea of hanging 5 feet of line off the back, could sound a bit constricting. I would not recommend trolling the diver with light action anything. Medium action rod, mono of at least 8lb, or braided line, as a minimum. Keep in mind for those of you who enjoy a fight with a fish and therefore use lighter tackle, you are sending lures to depths up to 80 feet deep. Little fish seldom hang out in depths in that range, so the bigger fish need the heavier stuff. I field tested this thing using fireline, mono, spiderwire, flourocarbon and braided lines in 6 - 14lb tests. I also used light action to medium heavy rods, and found medium action rod with line in the 8lb and better range worked great. Lighter action rod and lighter test line put serious strain on the gear. Also, you must use snap swivels for attaching the diver to the line and the leader to the diver. Small snaps will not work, you must use size 10 or bigger, so keep this in mind. I know I have pointed out a number of issues with the diver, but I rated it a 5, because for the money, it WILL get your lures to depths at around 75 - 80 feet, with the right line combination, with medium action rods, there is little pull on the rod, when retrieving the lure, the diver does not add "weight" to bringing in the fish, and this diver will help you catch those deep suspended fish without the need for expensive down riggers. One last thing. If you don't have lures that run 1-5 feet deep, buy some. Deep diving lures will not work on this item. It actually causes some issues with keeping the diver on plane. Deep diving lures cause the diver to flip over and head to the surface.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Fish Seeker Divers
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Spokane Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fish Seeker Divers

Date:August 5, 2008
The "Fish Seeker" is unique in that you can use it to set multiple depths. However, unless you would like to do all your trolling at 2mph you cannot be sure at what depth you are actually at. I set it at 80' and trolled at 1.5mph and it was only going down to 60'. I would imagine that the type of line as well as the size of line would also affect the depth that you were at. It is a good gimmick and if you have time to play with it, Iam sure that you would like it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Fish Seeker Divers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy to use

Date:June 17, 2008
The fish seeker divers are easy to use at a controlled depth. What I like the most is there is very little pull on my pole when using these. When you catch a fish the diver flips over and heads straight up to surface so there is no fighting the diver, only the fish. Will buy again when I wear these out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Fish Seeker Divers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: scotland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fish seeker

Date:March 18, 2008
a good prodct that certainly takes your lure down and kees it there with minimum drag, although I'm not sure if the depth is accurate. I set it for 1 or 2 settings deeper to overcome this. Simple and easy to use, much better and simpler than dipsy's or jet divers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Fish Seeker Divers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Western Massachusetts
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It works

Date:August 1, 2007
This summer my wife and I went to Alaska and had a great time catching Coho Salmon in Resurrection Bay off of Seward. The captain used downriggers and also "pink ladies" to get the lures down to where the fish were. I was impressed with the pink ladies and thought they would work well to get my lure down to where the trout were in the small ponds in Western Massachusetts that I like to fish. I checked the Cabela web site and found the Fish Seeker Diver, which was agreeably inexpensive. I ordered one and tried it this morning, trolling slowly in the deep water with a small silver flatfish. Despite the surface water temperature in the upper 70s, I caught my limit of rainbows and noticed (with some satisfaction) that the bait fishermen weren't having any luck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Fish Seeker Divers
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Hot Springs, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

FishingDave

Date:July 24, 2007
Works OK, but harder to regulater your deapth then some other types of divers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Fish Seeker Divers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: CALIFORNIA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

DIVERS

Date:July 9, 2007
THIS DIVER IS GREAT! IT GETS YOU TO THE DEEPS YOU LIKE IF YOU JUST READ INSTRUTIONS....WHEN YOU GOT A LAKE THAT TURNS OVER THREE TIMES A YEAR THE TEMPASURE CHANGES TO DIFFERENT DEEPS.....ESP. FOR TROUT..... THANKS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Fish Seeker Divers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fish Seeker Diver

Date:June 4, 2007
We use these on our trips to Canada when fishing for lakers and they work great for getting ours spoons to the depths we want.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Fish Seeker Divers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Northwest Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fish Seekers

Date:November 23, 2006
Great for the person who doesn't want to deal with the hassle of down-riggers. Easy directions to follow. Would be nice if the eyelets were coated for more durability, but these are as cheap as a lure and easily replaced. It will take alot of trolling to wear one out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Fish Seeker Divers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ham Lake, Mn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lake Trout on Fish Seeker Divers

Date:November 16, 2006
I spend three weeks a year in Canada fishing for walleyes, pike, smallmouth bass and muskies. A couple of years ago I decided to try fishing for Lake Trout. Most of the local people jig for lake trout by dropping a jig to the bottom, jigging it a few times and then reeling real fast to the surface. The fish are usually suspended 60 feet down over 80-100 feet of water. I wanted to find a way to get the bait down 60 feet where the fish were instead of pulling a jig up through them. Downriggers are accurate, but pretty expensive when you only use them a couple times a year. Most other ways to get a bait down that deep require heavier rods than I had. I saw that Fish Seekers were designed to be used with light tackle like I already have so I decided to give them a try. The packaging the Fish Seekers come with have easy instructions on how to get your bait to the depth you want it to run at. The next time I was in Canada I tried the Fish Seekers and was really impressed with the results. Instead of jigging all day for one or two fish we are now catching 30 or more fish a day. All you have to do is find the depth the fish are at and you can put your bait there consistantly the rest of the day and they work with tackle you already have.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.